COINCIDENCE 1

Welcome and thanks for reading.  I appreciate it.  This week, we will begin to answer the following question:

Are there such things as coincidences and random accidents or does everything happen for a reason?

First, do coincidences take place or does everything happen for a reason?

Ecclesiastics 9:11  I have seen something else under the sun:  The race is not to the swift or the battle to the
strong, nor does food come to the wise or wealth to the brilliant or favor to the learned;  but time and
CHANCE HAPPEN TO THEM ALL.

This verse addresses the issue of coincidence.  IF THINGS CAN HAPPEN BY CHANCE THEN THERE MUST BE
COINCIDENCES.  Here is a simple example:  If I get in line at the grocery store and there is another person in line
with my first name, that doesn’t necessarily mean that God is trying to tell me something.  My name, Jeff, is very
common and there are millions of people in this world with the same name.  Eventually, by coincidence or
chance, I’m going to run into someone in public with the same name as myself.

Secondly, do random accidents take place or does everything happen for a reason?

Again, I think Ecclesiastes 9:11 addresses the issue of random accidents.  IF THINGS CAN HAPPEN BY CHANCE
THEN THERE MUST BE RANDOM ACCIDENTS.  Here is another simple example:  If I tripped on the sidewalk
while reading a book and scraped my knee or even tore a ligament, chances are it was an accident.  More often
than not, it did not happen for a reason.  I wasn’t watching where I was going and simply tripped.  It was an
accident.

So far, we have read that there are such things as coincidences and random accidents.  They don’t always
happen for a reason.  They are not always a message from God.

Next week, we will look at the reverse.  Are there things that happen to people, good or bad, that are for a
reason?

Thank you so much for reading.  God bless.

Jeff

Leave a Reply

